



MEDIA RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

SCREEN PRODUCERS AUSTRALIA LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD RECIPIENT ROGER SAVAGE AND BUSINESS OF THE YEAR FINALISTS FOR 2016 ANNOUNCED

We are pleased to announce the recipient and nominees of Australia's most prestigious Lifetime Achievement and Business Awards. The recipients of the Breakthrough Business of the Year and Media Super Production Business of the Year will be awarded at the prestigious Screen Producers Australia Awards, taking place at the Palladium at Crown in Melbourne, on **Thursday 17 November 2016** as part of the **SCREEN FOREVER** Conference.

Hosted by Stand Up Comedian, Writer, and Broadcaster Claire Hooper, the Awards are the primary litmus test of industry excellence, and the only awards voted by production businesses working in the industry.

"The Screen Producers Australia Awards aim to increase awareness of the role producers play in creating Australian screen stories. They celebrate great Australian screen businesses who create and support high quality and outstanding screen content" said CEO Matthew Deaner said.



The 2016 Screen Producers Australia Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to post production visionary **Roger Savage**.

Savage's career spans more than 45 years: moving to Australia from England in 1964, he engineered some of the most important Australian popular music recordings of the period and, concentrating on film sound tracks and post production in the early 1970's, some of the country's most celebrated films, including *Moulin Rouge*, *Muriel's Wedding*, *Romeo and Juliet*, and all the *Mad Max* films.

Roger has always been on the cutting edge of technology, and has consistently driven innovation in the way film soundtracks

have been created and delivered. After 30 years in Port Melbourne's Crockford Street, Roger has recently moved Soundfirm's facility in Melbourne to a purpose built warehouse space on Fennell Street, at the same time investing in projects and technologies (including Dolby's Atmos) for the benefit of the next generation of film-makers.

"We're thrilled that Roger has agreed to accept the Lifetime Achievement Award that recognises his outstanding contribution to the Australian film industry" said CEO Matt Deaner.

The **Breakthrough Business of the Year** is awarded to a production business that has demonstrated a significant breakthrough in the screen industry in the past 12 months. The 2015 recipient was Brindle Films, a full-service media company based in Alice Springs.

Breakthrough Business of the Year Finalists for 2016:

Epic Films In Films Media Stockade Mint Pictures Tamasin Simpkin The **Media Super Production Business of the Year** is awarded to a production business that has produced an outstanding project or body of work, which has contributed to the advancement of the screen industry. The 2015 recipient was production company Matchbox Pictures, recognising their consistently original and entertaining productions for audiences, both locally and internationally.

Media Super Production Business of the Year Finalists for 2016:

CJZ

December Media FremantleMedia Australia Matchbox Pictures Werner Film Productions

To view the full list of Screen Producers Australia Award nominees, click <u>here</u>. To view trailers of the finalists in the 16th annual Screen Producers Australia Awards, click <u>here</u>.

SCREEN FOREVER

15 to 17 November 2016. Crown Conference Centre, Melbourne Australia. Register now at www.screenforever.org.au

@Screen_Producer / #SCREENFOREVER

Brought to you by



Principal Partner





Major Government Partner





- ends -

For media enquiries and interviews:

Miranda Brown – Miranda Brown Publicity | ph: 03 9419 0931 mob: 0411 568 781 | miranda@mbpublicity.com.au Hannah Andrews – Miranda Brown Publicity | ph: 03 9419 0931 mob: 0425 885 412 | hannah@mbpublicity.com.au

SCREEN FOREVER is one of the largest congregations of screen professionals in the southern hemisphere, providing a forum for discussion and debate on local and global trends, issues and challenges facing the business of screen production. Past keynote speakers include Gale Anne Hurd (*The Walking Dead, Aliens, The Terminator*); Dana Brunetti (*House of Cards*); Emile Sherman (*The King's Speech, Top of the Lake*); Sydney Pollack (*Tootsie*); Ted Hope (*21 Grams*), David Puttnam, Kt, CBE (*The Mission*), Jon Plowman (*The Office*), Matthew Weiner (*Mad Men*) and George Lucas (*Star Wars*).