Events » Screen Producers Australia Awards


Awards 2014

The 15th Screen Producers Australia Awards, hosted by television and radio presenter James Mathison took place at Crown Palladium, Melbourne on Thursday 19 November 2015  during the 30th SCREEN FOREVER conference.                                                                                                       

We have added a new Short Film Production category that complements the established categories that acknowledge excellence in feature film, feature film documentary, interactive (including games) and television, encompassing reality, light entertainment, telemovie or mini-series, children’s television, comedy and documentary television.

The addition of the Short Film Production category provides a platform for our emerging and mid career producers and sits alongside our other initiatives to support Australia’s creative talent including our Ones To Watch mentoring program and new business classes in development.

The Screen Producers Australia Awards are the primary litmus test of industry excellence, and the only awards voted by production businesses working in the industry, recognising the entirety of the production as opposed to one specific area of specialisation.

The full list of Award recipients of the 2015 Screen Producers Australia Awards are:

Media Super Production Business of the Year

Matchbox Pictures

Lifetime Achievement Award

Natalie Miller AO

Drama Television Production of the Year

The Code, Playmaker Media

Comedy Television Production of the Year

Please Like Me S2, Guesswork Television

Documentary Television Production of the Year

Go Back To Where You Came From, Cordell Jigsaw Productions

Children’s Television Production of the Year

Nowhere Boys S2, Matchbox Pictures

Light Entertainment Television Production of the Year

Agony, High Wire Films

Reality Television Production of the Year

The X Factor S5, Fremantle Media Australia

Telemovie or Mini Series Production of the Year

The Secret River, Ruby Entertainment

Feature Film Production of the Year

Holding The Man, Goalpost Pictures

Feature Documentary Production of the Year

That Sugar Film, Madman Production Company

Short Film Production of the Year

Emo (The Musical), Matthewswood Productions

Interactive and Online Production of the Year (tied)

How To Talk Australians, Jason Byrne Productions

Interactive and Online Production of the Year (tied)

Sherlock: The Network, The Project Factory

Breakthrough Business of the Year

Brindle Films

Services and Facilities Business of the Year


Fox Studios Australia for work on Endemol Shine Australia's
Shark Tank


As an Official Submitting Organisation of APSA (Asia Pacific Screen Awards), Screen Producers Australia has also been invited to submit up to four films to represent Australia in the APSA competition, which will be selected from the Finalists in the Screen Producers Australia Awards Feature Film category.  

Find out more about last year's 2014 Screen Producers Australia Awards, held at Melbourne's Palladium at Crown and hosted by Adam Zwar. Or view a list of last year's outstanding recipients here.