News » 2017 Business of the Year

Matchbox Pictures Awarded Media Super Production Business of the Year

Screen Producers Australia would like to congratulate all winners and finalists of the SPA Awards for 2017. The 17th annual Screen Producers Australia Awards was hosted by Nazeem Hussain at Melbourne’s Forum Theatre during the 2017 SCREEN FOREVER Conference.

Matchbox Pictures was awarded the Media Super Production Business of the Year. Matchbox Pictures works with leading Australian talent to deliver content that is meaningful to Australian audiences and internationally renowned. They place a strong emphasis on developing a slate of content which will sell to multiple territories around the world to further the reach and awareness of Australian content around the globe.

Screen Producers Australia’s CEO Matthew Deaner said: “We are delighted to see such a powerhouse talented group such as Matchbox pictures take out best production company. They continue to expand and forge new pathways in the industry allowing Australian stories to be told through multiple partners on a local and global level. The Awards has showcased the tip of the iceberg of an incredible year of production to which we should all feel very proud. We commend every part of our industry for their fantastic work but particularly our outstanding winners tonight.”

The full list of Award recipients of the 2017 Screen Producers Australia Awards are:

Media Super Production Business of the Year
Matchbox Pictures

Lifetime Achievement Award​​​​​
Pam Barnes

Drama Series of the Year
Cleverman, Goalpost Pictures

Comedy Series of the Year​​​​​
Please Like Me, Guesswork Television

​Series Documentary of the Year​
Occupation: Native, Brindle Films

Feature Documentary of the Year​
The Go-Betweens: Right Here, Essential Media and Entertainment

Animated Series of the Year
Winston Steinburger & Sir Dudley Ding DongSticky Pictures

Children’s Series of the Year​
Nowhere Boys: Two Moons RisingMatchbox Pictures

Light Entertainment Television Production of the Year​
Anh’s Brush With FameScreentime

Online Series of the Year
Doodles, Ludo Studio

Reality Series of the Year​
The Voice Australia, ITV Studios Australia

Telemovie or Mini Series Production of the Year
Top of the Lake: China GirlSee-Saw Films

Feature Film of the Year
LION, See-Saw Films

Short Film of the Year​
Mrs McCutcheonBuffalo Media

Interactive or Game Production of the Year​
Inside ManusHoodlum & Chemical Media

Breakthrough Business of the Year​​​​
Factor 30 Films

Services and Facilities Business of the Year​
Film Finances

Screen Business Export Award (Tied):
Every Cloud Productions


FremantleMedia Australia

Ones To Watch Screen Internship​
Ann Megalla

Ones To Watch SBS First Look Grant
Joel Kohn

The Screen Producers Australia Awards recognise the creation of outstanding screen content by Australian businesses and provide a great opportunity to celebrate the industry.

Media Super Production Business of the Year brought to you by Media Super

The Ones To Watch Screen Internship is a joint partnership initiative between Screen Producers Australia and Screen Australia

The Ones To Watch First Look Grant is presented by SBS

Download the release.

Screen Producers Awards 2017: winners
David Knox, TV Tonight, 17 November 2017

Matchbox Pictures takes home the top gong at 2017 SPA Awards
IF Magazine, 17 November 2017

Go Betweens, The Voice, Win at Screen Producers Awards
Helen Macklin, The Music Network, 20 November 2017

Matchbox Pictures Awarded Media Super Production Business of the Year 2017
Film Ink

Matchbox Pictures Awarded Media Super Production Business of the Year
Phil Sandberg, Content & Technology, 24 November 2017