News » Business Of The Year

Playmaker Media Awarded Media Super Production Business Of The Year 2014

Screen Producers Australia has announced Playmaker Media as the Media Super Production Business of the Year at the 14th annual Screen Producers Australia Awards, hosted by Adam Zwar at Melbourne’s Palladium at Crown during the 29th SCREEN FOREVER Conference.

Television production company Playmaker Media was founded by Australian producers David Maher and David Taylor and specialises in authored and contemporary drama. Most recently, Playmaker Media has produced the award winning drama series House Husbands for the Nine Network, political thriller The Code for ABC Television and the period drama series Love Child for Nine Network.

Screen Producers Australia’s Executive Director Matthew Deaner said: “The Screen Producers Australia Awards were born from a desire to recognise and honour Australian screen businesses who create and support high quality and outstanding screen content. Playmaker Media have established themselves as one of Australia’s most successful production companies, consistently producing original and entertaining stories for television audiences both locally and internationally.”

A special highlight of the 2014 Screen Producers Australia Awards was the inclusion of five new award categories, which reflects the wide range of contemporary screen productions across all formats and genres.

The inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award, was received by Des Monaghan, one of Australia’s leading Executive Producers. For over half a century, Monaghan’s energy and excellence has transformed the screen culture of Australia and New Zealand, and established him as one of Australian TV’s most influential figures. In May this year, May Monaghan stepped down as Executive Chairman of the Screentime group, following eighteen years with business partner Bob Campbell producing many of Australia’s most celebrated dramas, including ANZAC Girls (ABC Television), the Underbelly franchise (Nine Network) and the critically acclaimed Cloudstreet series (Showtime Australia).

The full list of Award recipients of the 2014 Screen Producers Australia Awards are:

Media Super Production Business of the Year
Playmaker Media

Lifetime Achievement Award
Des Monaghan

Drama Television Production of the Year
Rake, Essential Media and Entertainment

Comedy Television Production of the Year
The Moodys, Jungleboys

Documentary Television Production of the Year
Who Do You Think You Are?, Artemis International with Serendipity Productions

Children’s Television Production of the Year
Nowhere Boys, Matchbox Pictures

Light Entertainment Television Production of the Year
The Agony of Modern Manners, High Wire Films

Reality Television Production of the Year
MasterChef, Shine Australia

Telemovie or Mini Series Production of the Year
The Gods of Wheat Street, Every Cloud Productions

Feature Film Production of the Year
The Railway Man, Pictures in Paradise

Feature Length Documentary Production of the Year
I Am A Girl, Media Stockade

Interactive Production of the Year
Secrets & Lies, Hoodlum

Breakthrough Business of the Year
Carbon Media

Services and Facilities Business of the Year
Fox Studios Australia for work on Playmaker Media's Love Child

The Screen Producers Australia Awards recognise the creation of outstanding screen content by Australian businesses and provide a great opportunity to celebrate the industry.

Media Super Production Business of the Year Brought to You By Media Super