News » SPA Council 2017 - 2018

2017/18 Screen Producers Australia Council Announced 

Screen Producers Australia announced the appointment of its 2017 - 2018 Councillors, resulting from the organisation’s recent Council elections, at its Annual General Meeting held in Sydney on Friday, 3 November. 

The Screen Producers Australia Council is comprised of members working across the production of feature film, television, documentary, interactive media and children's content, as well as service and facilities businesses.

“We’re pleased to announce the newly elected Councillors who represent a significant cross section of the screen production industry in Australia,” said our CEO, Matthew Deaner.

Deaner said “The Councillors are well recognised within the industry through the breadth and depth of their experience, achievements and contribution to the industry.  I would like to thank outgoing Councillors Chris Hilton, Mark BamfordTracey Robertson, Ewan Burnettand Joanna Werner for their service and I look forward to working with our new Council and again with President Michael Tear and Vice-President Tania Chambers”.

President Michael Tear, Managing Director of WildBear Entertainment said, "I am delighted to welcome our new councillors, Sean Meltzer, Rachel Clements, Charlie Aspinwall and Stuart Menzies. Their experience and talent compliments an incredibly strong council that is well placed to continue the ongoing work of Screen Producers Australia." 

Tear added “The policy framework our industry operate within date from a different era and while having served us well need modernising. It is important that Screen Producers Australia leads the conversation and advocates policies that reflect the current economic and cultural environment. This will be the priority of Screen Producers Australia in the next twelve months.”

The full Council list including biographies can be viewed here.